Board of Directors 2017-05-12T13:02:42+00:00

Board of Directors

The Board currently comprises four independent non-executive directors.

David Potter

Non-Executive Chairman

Between 1981-1989, David was a Managing Director of Samuel Montagu, Midland Montagu and Midland Global Corporate Banking (now HSBC). David was also a Managing Director of CSFB and its predecessor companies (1969-1981). David is currently a non executive director of Fundsmith Emerging Equities Trust, Chairman of Illustrated London News and a member of the Advisory Board of ALVA Capital.. He is a Council member of The Centre for the Study of Financial Innovation, Chairman of the National Film and TV Foundation, The Bryanston Foundation and a Trustee of Step Together Volunteering.. He is a member of the Investment Committee of King’s College London where he is a Fellow.

Appointed to the Board of Spark Ventures on 20 March 2002, and Chairman from 25 September 2009. He assumed the Chairmanship of the renamed Gresham House Strategic in August 2015

Helen Sinclair

Non-Executive Director

Helen has an MA in Economics from the University of Cambridge and an MBA from INSEAD Business School. After working in investment banking Helen spent nearly 8 years at 3i plc focusing on MBOs and growth capital investments. She later co-founded Matrix Private Equity (now Mobeus) in early 2000 raising Mobeus Income & Growth 2 VCT plc (formerly Matrix e-Ventures VCT plc). She subsequently became managing director of Matrix Private Equity before moving to take on a portfolio of non-executive director roles in 2005. She is currently a non-executive director of The Income & Growth VCT plc, Mobeus Income & Growth 4 VCT plc,  British Smaller Companies VCT plc and FTGS Holdco Limited.  Helen was appointed to the board on 17 December 2009.

Charles Berry

Non-Executive Director

Charles was an executive with SPARK from 2001 to 2005 working as a director at Aspex, Mergermarket, Kobalt, and He was involved with SPARK’s investments in Pricerunner (sold to ValueClick), Safelogic (sold to Jasper Design Automation), and IntelligentApps (sold to Sage plc). Since leaving his executive role, Charles has worked at Virgin Group building Virgin’s mobile phone and related ventures around the globe, and also at Lloyds Banking Group working on restructuring the bank’s customers, and also the Group’s Strategy. Charles is now Corporate Development Director for DST Systems Inc a US quoted technology and services business supporting the asset management industry. Appointed to the Board on 15 September 2004. Charles chairs the audit committee.

Kenneth Lever

Non-Executive Director

Ken Lever is a non-executive director of DACBeachcroft LLP, a legal firm specialising in insurance and property, a non-executive director of Vertu Motors plc (AIM listed Automotive Retailer) and FM International Limited (a wholly owned subsidiary of FM Global, property insurer). Ken recently stepped down from his role as Chief Executive of Xchanging plc and during his career has held listed company executive board positions with Tomkins plc, Albright and Wilson plc, Alfred McAlpine plc and private equity owned Numonyx BV. In his early career Ken qualified as a Chartered Accountant and became a partner in Arthur Andersen. Until 2014 Ken was a member of the UK Accounting Standards Board. He graduated from Manchester University with a degree in Management Sciences.

Company Secretary, Augentius Corporate Services Limited